

Integrating & Advancing the Region

Trade & Development Bank (TDB) also known as the Eastern and Southern African Trade and Development Bank, is an African regional development financial institution established in 1985.

The Bank's mandate is to finance and foster trade, socio-economic development and regional economic integration through trade finance, project and infrastructure finance, funds management and business advisory services.

TDB's twin headquarters are in Burundi and Mauritius, with regional offices in Zimbabwe and Kenya.

The Bank's membership comprises of the twenty-two Member States, two nonregional members namely, Belarus and China and eleven institutional shareholders including the African Development Bank, Africa Reinsurance Corporation, Banco Nacional de Investimento, Mauritian Eagle Insurance.Company Limited, National Pension Fund - Mauritius, National Social Security Fund – Uganda, OPEC Fund for International Development (OFID), PTA Reinsurance Company, Rwanda Social Security Board, Sacos Group Ltd and Seychelles Pension Fund (SPF).

The Bank is further expanding its shareholder base as it repositions itself as a more inclusive Regional Development Bank serving all countries in or adjacent to Eastern and Southern Africa – subject to membership – across the EAC, IGAD, IOC and SADC in addition to its founding regional economic community, COMESA.

The Bank's purpose and key objectives

1. Advance regional economic integration and growth through trade and investment;

2. Promote development of infrastructure, exports and enterprises in Member States;

3. Provide debt, quasi-equity and equity financing, as well as non-financial products and services, to eligible entities and projects in Member States;

4. Render technical and management services to Member States, Partners, Donors and Stakeholders, including management of special purpose funds, and;

5. Foster development and deepening of financial and capital markets in Member States.

www.tdbgroup.org