The Board of Governors is the supreme governing body of the Bank.  Each shareholding Member of the Bank is entitled to a representative on the Board of Governors, which generally comprises Ministers of Finance or Ministers of Economic Planning for Regional Members, and high-ranking officials for Non-Regional and Institutional Members. The Board of Governors also appoints the Non-Executive Directors of the Board of Directors.

Regional Members

  • Republic of Burundi
  • Union of the Comoros
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Republic of Djibouti
  • Arab Republic of Egypt
  • State of Eritrea
  • Kingdom of eSwatini
  • Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia
  • Republic of Kenya
  • Republic of Madagascar
  • Republic of Malawi
  • Republic of Mauritius
  • Republic of Mozambique
  • Republic of Rwanda
  • Republic of Seychelles
  • Federal Republic of Somalia
  • Republic of the Sudan
  • Republic of South Sudan
  • United Republic of Tanzania
  • Republic of Uganda
  • Republic of Zambia
  • Republic of Zimbabwe

Non-Regional Members

  • JSC Development Bank of the Republic of Belarus
  • People’s Bank of China


Institutional Members

  • African Development Bank (AfDB)
  • Africa Reinsurance Corporation (Africa Re)
  • Arab Bank for Economic Development in Africa (BADEA)
  • Banco Nacional De Investimento (BNI) – Mozambique
  • Mauritian Eagle Insurance Company (MEI)
  • National Pension Fund (NPF) – Mauritius
  • National Social Security Fund (NSSF) – Uganda
  • OPEC Fund for International Development (OFID)
  • PTA Reinsurance Company (Zep-Re)
  • Rwanda Social Security Board (RSSB)
  • Sacos Insurance Group – Seychelles
  • Seychelles Pension Fund (SPF)