• Who we are
    • History
    • Members
    • Charter
    • Directors
    • Governors
    • Management
    • Organization
    • Partners
    • The Eastern and Southern African Trade and Development Bank, known more commonly as TDB, and previously PTA Bank, is a specialized African regional financial institution established in 1985 that provides short, medium and long term financing, across a wide set of sectors, both private and public sector clients, on sustainable and commercial principles.

    • Trade finance
    • Project and Infrastructure Finance
    • Environmental and Social Management Framework
    • The Banks mission is to finance and foster trade. socio economic development and regional economic integration through trade and development finance, funds management as well as advisory and agency services.

      Furthermore, TDB has a comprehensive Environmental and Social Management Framework for TDB Financed projects. TDB also undertakes continuous assessment of its financed projects to ensure adherence to global best practices of Environmental and Social issues.

    • Overview
    • Annual Reports
    • Funding
    • Highlights
    • TDB is a treaty-based, specialist regional multilateral development bank (MDB) that is investment grade, profitable and dividend paying. It operates on both market and sustainability principles, and does not offer concessional finance, as it is not a donor funded institution. Established by the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), it is owned by 23 sovereigns, mainly from eastern and southern Africa, both COMESA and non-COMESA sovereigns, as well as non-African sovereigns and institutional shareholders such as international financial institutions, pension funds and insurance companies

    • Our Interventions
    • By Sector
    • We provide various types of credit and guarantees, such as letters of credit, trade loans, and term loans, including agency backed loans, in various development sectors, with preference, where feasible, for transactions that have high levels of development impact and positive cross-border effects, including transactions that enhance the connectivity and complementarity of Member States. Equity financing is considered very selectively on a case by base. Other services provided include funds/asset management, advisory and agency services.

    • Careers
    • Consulting
    • Procurement
    • Young Professionals Program
    • The Bank is first and foremost a merit-based employer, where the paramount consideration in recruitment is integrity, efficiency and competence, both technical and international experience. The Bank, statutorily, seeks diversity in its recruitment, across Member States, gender and age. Nationals and the diaspora of Member States and Member Countries are eligible to apply to vacancies, provided they are under the age of 62. As a rule, the President and majority of the Bank shall always be nationals of Member States.


Hon. Dr. Abraham Tekeste

Minister of Finance and Economic  Cooperation, Federal Democratic  Republic of Ethiopia.

Hon. Felix Mutati

Minister of Finance and National Planning, Republic of Zambia

Hon. Pravind Kumar Jugnauth

Minister of Finance and Economic Development, Republic of Mauritius

Mr. Louis Rene Peter Larose

Minister of Finance, Trade and the Blue Economy, Republic of Seychelles

Hon. Matia Kasaija

Minister of Finance, Planning and Economic Development Republic of Uganda

Hon. Dr. Domitien Ndihokubwayo

Minister of Finance, Budget and Privatisations, Republic of Burundi 

Hon. Said Ali Said Chayhane

Minister of Finance and Budget, Union of Comoros

Hon. Ilyas Moussa Dawaleh

Minister of Economy, Finance and Planning, Republic of Djibouti

Hon. Dr. Amr EL-Garhy

Minister of Finance, Republic of Egypt

Hon. Berhane Habtemariam

Minister of Finance State of Eritrea

Hon. Adan Mohamed, EGH

Cabinet Secretary Ministry of Industry, Investment and Trade Republic of Kenya

Hon. Goodall Gondwe

Minister for Finance, Economic Planning and Development Republic of Malawi

Hon. Patrick Chinamasa

Minister of Finance and Economic Development Republic of Zimbabwe

Hon. Claver Gatete

Minister of Finance and Economic Planning Republic of Rwanda Chairman, Board of Governors

Hon. Badr El-Din Mahmoud Abbas

Minister of Finance and National Economy Republic of Sudan.

Hon. Phillip Mpango

Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs, United Republic of Tanzania

Hon. Henri Yav Mulang

Minister of Finance Democratic Republic of Congo

Hon. Mohamed Aden Ibrahim

Minister for Finance Federal Republic of Somalia

Hon. Adriano Afonso Maleiane

Minister of Economy and Finance Mozambique

Mr. Charles O Boamah

Vice President – Finance, African Development Bank (AfDB)

H.E. Dr. Zhou Xiaochuan

Governor, People’s Bank of China, People’s Republic of China

Mr. Andrei S. Brishtelev

Chairman of the Board, Paritetbank, Belarus

Mr Veenay Rambarassah

Senior Analyst, National Pension Fund of Mauritius.

Mr. Derek Wong Wan Po

Managing Director, Mauritian Eagle Insurance Company Ltd

Ms. Lekha Nair

Chief Executive Officer, Seychelles Pension Fund

Mr. Corneille Karekezi

Group Managing Director, Africa-Re Insurance Company.

Ms. Hope Murera

Managing Director, Zep-Re (PTA Reinsurance Company)

Mr. Jonathan Gatera

Director General, Rwanda Social Security Board

Mr. Richard Byarugaba

Chief Executive Officer, National Social Security Fund Uganda.

Mr. Tomas Rodrigues Matola

President, Banco Nacional de Investimento

Ms. Jennifer Morel

Chief Executive Officer, SACOS Group Limited